The Board met in Special Session Tuesday, August 25, 2020 at 7:00 a.m.

Members Present:	President Margaret Nightengale Vice President Jim Wilson Jamie Kratzer Mike Meyer Diana Nunez Clay Scott Ron Smith
Members Absent:	
Others Present:	Superintendent Dave Younger Assistant Superintendent Chad Krug * Others - See List

Others Absent:

- 1) **CALL TO ORDER:** The meeting was called to order by President Nightengale at 7:00 am.
- <u>ADOPTION OF AGENDA:</u> The agenda was adopted as modified to move the Joint Statement with City and County before the budget approval on a motion by Ron Smith — seconded by Diana Nunez — motion carried 7-0.

3) JOINT STATEMENT with CITY and COUNTY:

a) The board had discussion on a joint statement of the importance of wearing masks among other measures to keep members of the broader community as safe as possible.

4) APPROVAL OF THE 2020-2021 BUDGET:

a) The Board met to review the proposed budget for FY 2021. Motion to approve the budget as presented made by Jim Wilson, seconded by Jamie Kratzer. Motion passed 7-0.

5) <u>GCTA/USD 214 AGREEMENT:</u>

a) Increase to base, steps, and columns totalling 3.096%. Motion to approve the negotiated contract for 2021 made by Clay Scott, seconded by Jamie Kratzer. Motion passed 7-0. (pending ratification by GCTA)

6) **<u>REMOTE LEARNING HANDBOOK:</u>**

a) Clay Scott moved to approve the Remote Learning Handbook — seconded by Jamie Kratzer — motion carried 7-0.

7) **<u>iPAD HANDBOOK:</u>**

a) Clay Scott moved to approve the iPad handbook as presented — seconded by Jamie Kratzer — motion carried 7-0.

8) **<u>GATING GUIDELINES:</u>**

a) The board discussed the Navigating Change Kansas Schools Gating Criteria resources released by Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE). Clay Scott moved to continue with the Opening Ulysses document and not follow the Kansas Schools Gating Criteria. Seconded by Mike Meyer. Motion carried 7-0.

9) **EXECUTIVE SESSION:**

a) At 8:15 a.m. President Nightengale moved to go into executive session for 15 minutes to discuss personnel information pursuant to non-elected personnel exception under KOMA, and the open board meeting will resume in the boardroom at 8:30 a.m. Second by Jamie Kratzer. Motion carried 7-0. Superintendent Younger and Mr. Krug were invited into the executive session. Diana Nunez left the meeting at 8:23 a.m.

10) **ADJOURNMENT:**

a) At 8:31 a.m. Ron Smith moved to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Mike Meyer. Motion carried 6-0.

11) **OTHER:**

President Margaret Nightengale

Board Member Mike Meyer

Vice-President Jim Wilson

Board Member Diana Nunez

Board Member Clay Scott

*Attachments

Board Member Ron Smith

Board Member: Jamie Kratzer

Board Clerk: Chad Krug Recorded by: Chad Krug Board Clerk Chad Krug